Bibliophile. And PROUD of it.

Standard

I love books. And by love, I mean ADORE, worship, dream of, and live for them. Reading has been my favorite past time for longer than I can even remember.

Some of my earliest family stories involve me and books:

  • The time when my grandparents were babysitting me in thier ceramic shop because my (single hard-working) mom had to work. My mom came to pick me up….but no one knew where I was. I had been SO quiet the whole time that my grandparents had forgotten I was there, hadn’t fed me or played with me…..because I was curled up under the counter reading. All day. Perfectly happy.
  • The time I was reading while walking (always dangerous for me- yet I do it ALL the time) when we were camping. It was starting to get dark, and the campfire had been started to get ready to make dinner on. I must have been getting cold because I wandered closer….and then closer still….then WALKED INTO the fire while totally engrossed in my book. Yep- have the scar to prove it.
  • Visiting my grandparents at the cottage on my dads weekends, reading all the way up. Then going out on the boat while everyone fished….and I curled up in the sun and read. Taking the paddle-boat out all by myself to the middle of the lake and basking in the sun….while reading.
  • LOVE the visual memory of me walking all 3 of my babies through town with our wagon to the library on a beautiful sunshiny day to the “used book” sale. We filled our wagon and I had to perch my toddler son in the middle of the piles as we s l o w l y made our way, all of us reading and giggling the whole way home.

So imagine my grief when one of our favorite stores, Discount Books, closed a few months ago.  I had taken my kids there for years. Usually giving them each a budget and let them wander til they found the perfect books. Who can resist older magazine issues for $1 or bookmarks for .50?    We were SO sad.

Then- last week, my husband and I found “The Bookshelf”, a new bookstore that popped up. When we walked in, my favorite employee from Discount Books greeted us! She and her husband had bought some of the stock from DB and opened a smaller newer version of the used/discount bookstore. SO excited, I wanted to hug her. (My husband stopped me- good call.) I bought several books, some new and some used- total bliss. I was very excited to find a book from a series that I collect, one I hadn’t bought yet….for $3!

Unfortunately, when I got home, I realized that I HAD already gotten that book- I just haven’t read it yet. DANG.

So, yesterday (about a week later)- I was driving by this store, and figured I would stop in and ask if they would let me swap it out for another. I assumed they would say no- returning books is just usually not DONE. But…when I walked in and explained, the owner said “Usually, we don’t do that, but I will let you- sure.” YEAH!!

As I am wandering down the aisles, I was chatting with her- about customer service and how some people are cranky and determined to not be happy, no matter what you do or say- SO TRUE. As we are talking, I am mentally calculating my wallet and how I can NOT really afford one more book right now. The other owner- her husband- comes out of the back, walks up to me, and says the magic words: “If you buy 3 books RIGHT NOW, I will give you 2 more FREE”.

How in the heck could I say no to THAT?!?!?!?

Final result: $12 bucks for 5 NEW books (plus 1 that I had exchanged).

I love books, small bookstores, and happy people.

Image

Since the 11th would have been my moms 61st Birthday, I had been sniffling and sobbing all day- just dragging. These people made my day, without even knowing. LOVE that..

I am a Bibliophile.

3 responses »

  1. Yay blogging and yay books! 🙂 Did you get the book I loaned you on Nook? Let me know if you’re ready for the other one… I think I still have the e-mail request. 🙂

Leave a Reply

